Best Pay Per Click Tips – 6 Ways to Maximize AdWords Marketing Results
Google AdWords provide internet marketers a tool for reaching a lot of people. However, its complexity prevents many marketers from fully utilizing it. Veteran marketers with many years’ experience in the game have fallen for simple mistakes. There are several best pay per click techniques that will allow you to reap Google AdWords’ full potential. These techniques will show you how to properly use the service and adjust to any changes allowing your performance to continuously improve.
1. Know Your Numbers
A product with small profit margin coupled with a low conversion rate is a recipe for disaster. If this is the case with your website, address these issues first before proceeding. Say for example a product pays $10 commission and you pay $0.50 per click. After 50 clicks, your total PPC bill is $25. If the conversion rate of your landing page is 2%, you get 1 sale for every 50 clicks. You end up losing money, making $10 with a PPC cost of $25.
The biggest mistake people make in AdWords marketing is to throw in a big budget to launch their campaigns. This can be detrimental as you may end up burning your capital. For new campaigns, you should set a small daily budget of $10-20 and monitor the daily performance. Some non-converting keywords can consume a big chunk of your budget and you might want to lower the maximum cost per click for that keyword or turn it off. These will allow other keywords to have a “surviving” chance. The only time you can adjust your spending is when you can already see a marked improvement.
3. Use Targeted Landing Pages
When you have multiple pages on your site, you have to funnel your audience to those landing pages that best represent the keyword communicate the relevant intent. Make it easy by allowing site visitors to immediately see what the ad has promised without additional action. Organize ads into multiple ad groups and have URL targets with multiple tracking ids.
4. Learn How to Target Your Ads
Avoid the shotgun approach. If you sell 10 different products, take the time to tailor each ad to its corresponding product complete with a unique set of carefully researched and formulated keywords.
5. Learn to Use Long Tail Keywords
Effective AdWords marketing require knowing how to use long tail keywords. Using short, vague phrases as keywords will net you a diverse group. This is good for visibility but is not indicative of best pay per click tactics when you are trying to make a sale. Putting “digital camera” as a keyword will get many browsers to your automotive site but don’t count on a lot of them buying. Instead, try to be more specific with “Sony DSC-HX1” and you will see a jump in quality traffic with high buying intent. It pays to have foresight when using long tail keywords. Those looking to buy tend to type “review” and “price” in their search queries. Best pay per click practices helps you position yourself to capitalize on this predictable behavior.
6. Negative Keywords
The above cuts both ways. You don’t want keywords like: research, pictures, free, download, torrent, used and wholesale associated with your ads as these keywords effectively bring in the wrong target group and hinder your goal of having the best pay per click results possible.
There are other ways to make AdWords marketing work. Split testing, geographical testing, and quality scoring using landing page optimization all work but the beauty of the best pay per click tips above lies in its simplicity. The basics – market targeting, bad clicks reduction, a focus on results and profits – often are overlooked but they offer real benefits that when followed, ensures your pay per click campaign to be a big success.