Categorized | List Building

Moving a YouTube Video to Facebook

The number of people who use Facebook every day is estimated in the millions. They access their account in a variety of ways – their smart-phone, mobile device, tablet, laptop, and desk computer. Depending on age and life-style, they post updates and read feeds at all times of the day, as soon as they wake, throughout the day at home and at work, and finally before they go to sleep.

During this time, they share tens of thousands of hours of YouTube content to friends, family, business clients, customers, and special interest groups. To make sure that your content is available to this global audience, make sure that your account is set up to share your videos on Facebook. This article shows you how easy it is to share your YouTube videos with your Facebook community.

The ability to share the things that excite or move you with your friends and family greatly enhances the social aspect of these two very interactive platforms. If your intentions are more professional, you’ve the ability to demonstrate knowledge and expertise in your field and share value with people within your niche. Fortunately, the process of linking your YouTube and Facebook accounts takes very little time and effort.

If you already have a YouTube account then go to the top right hand section of the webpage to see your settings options. Use the drop-down menu to take you to the option, “account”. From there, click through to a very useful page called “sharing” that allows you to choose how you want to share information with your community.

If you plan to be a very active user on YouTube and already engage intensively with your online community then you’ve the ability to let them know about everything that you do on YouTube. You can share comments you make on videos, when you like other videos or favourite them, and also when you upload new content.

In the activity feed column, you can see the option to tick “upload a video” and by selecting this option, you’ll be able to tell your online community whenever you post a new video on your channel. Assuming that you post relevant content regularly, this will help drive traffic from your online platforms back to your YouTube channel and increase viewing figures.

From the “sharing” page, you can connect your YouTube account to a variety of social media and online networking sites including Facebook. Select all the platforms that you want to share with and for the purposes of this article, ensure that you include Facebook. Choose the “connect” option which you can see beside the relevant icons.

Thus by choosing “upload a video” and “connect” with Facebook, you’ve allowed YouTube to automatically feed information of all your new video uploads straight to Facebook. A dialogue box now opens and you’ll be asked to confirm permission to link together the accounts. From this point onwards, you can share content between the two platforms and greatly improve your viewing statistics.

For existing content or for other publishers’ content that you want to share with your online community, the process is just as simple. Go to the relevant video and choose the “share” button that is visible just beneath the video box alongside the “like”, thumbs down and” add to” buttons. You’ll see a new dialogue box appear which lists a shortened URL link to the video.

If you select “show options” link, beside it, you can see you’ve the additional ability to pick your own starting point in the running order. If you want the video to start ten seconds in, then enter 10. This will change the URL link accordingly. You can also choose a longer URL link if you prefer.

Beneath this section you’ll see the options to embed, email or the social media platforms that you’ve chosen to connect your YouTube account with. Click on the Facebook icon to pull up another dialogue box which asks you to specify who will see your video, where on Facebook they will see it, and allows you to write a comment to accompany the video.

Depending on how you’ve set up your privacy settings, you dictate who can watch the video. Refine your selection with the drop-down menu on the right-hand side of the dialogue box. On the left-hand side, are options which point you to where on your Facebook account the video is to appear. If you’re a member of a group, or have Facebook pages set up, you can choose to share the video only on these pages.

If you want to send the video to a particular friend or as part of a private message not for community viewing, you can do so at this point. Otherwise, you can decide to post the video on your own wall where it will appear along with your regular activity feed. When other people see the video appear on your wall, and on their home page, they’ll be able to share it amongst their own circle on Facebook.

You don’t have to write a comment in the discussion box as there will be a summary description which appears alongside a still shot of the video when you post it. Once you’ve completed your refinements or comments, you simply press the “create link” button and the video can make its way to its ultimate Facebook destination.

Leave a Reply